Skip to content

Club Car Precedent

Club Car's own address for this model was at manuals.clubcar.com/api/preview/get/102501601. Followed on 14 September 2026 and it returns a PDF: Club Car's own two-page PREVIEW of the 2004 Precedent Owner's Manual, part number 102501601. The cover carries the model name, the year and the Ingersoll-Rand mark Club Car bore at the time. The manual itself is sold rather than published, so its contents are not held. There is no product page to follow — Club Car's current line-up is Onward and Tempo, and the Precedent appears in their manual library and nowhere else on their site. Checked 14 September 2026.

The Club Car Precedent is a golf cart with a stated top speed of 5–15 mph, in seven settings and a curb weight of 903 lb (410 kg).

Last updated: 11 October 2026

What we found

  • Batteries are documented for it, from the manufacturer's own documentation.
  • Further batteries are listed on this model's battery page and are not included in the count above.
  • A battery is explicitly documented as NOT fitting it: 38V 105Ah Cube LiFePO4 Gen3.
  • Specifications are published for it, each with its source.
  • 1 certification standard is recorded for it: ANSI/OPEI Z130.1.
  • 12 recalls or safety notices are matched to it.

What else the Precedent needs

Parts a source says are needed beyond the battery itself. Reported, not recommended — read the source beside each one and confirm it with the manufacturer before buying anything.

  • Vendor statedWhatever pack is fitted

    An onboard computer (OBC) bypass, which Allied say is needed for a non-factory charger to work properly on a Precedent built between 1993 and 2013. Their condition is the charger, not the conversion: they do not say a Precedent needs one in every case. Allied sell a kit for it, and Buggies Unlimited sell a Lester part for the same job. The earliest Precedent owner's manual we found is for 2004, so the start of Allied's range is unconfirmed.

    “A Club Car Precedent golf cart from between 1993 and 2013 will require an onboard computer (OBC) bypass for a non-factory charger to work properly.”

    Source: alliedlithium.com/collections/accessories/products/club-car-precedent-obc-bypass-kit

  • A charger suited to the lithium pack. Allied name their own: "the appropriate Allied Lithium charger for your battery" — a class of charger rather than one part number, so the 48V 15A unit shown beside this is an example of what they mean and not the model they named.

    “You will also need to use the appropriate Allied Lithium charger for your battery.”

    Source: alliedlithium.com/collections/accessories/products/club-car-precedent-obc-bypass-kit

  • Vendor statedWhatever pack is fitted

    A 12 V DC-DC step-down converter to feed the cart's 12 V accessories — lights, radio, horn — which lose their supply when the lead-acid string they were tapped off becomes a single 48 V module. Epoch include one in their conversion kit; Allied sell one separately, in a collection named for the purpose.

    “a 12V DC-DC Converter (to safely power your lights and radio)”

    Source: epochbatteries.com/products/48v-105ah-lithium-golf-cart-kit

The company

Who owned the maker that year
Ingersoll-Rand

“Club Car 2004 PRECEDENT Owner's Manual Ingersoll-Rand”

Source: manuals.clubcar.com/api/preview/get/102501601

Motor and performance

Motor type
Shunt-wound, 48 V DC, direct drive

“Drive motor: Direct drive, 48 volts DC, shunt-wound, 3.2 hp”

Source: tidewatercarts.com/golf-cart-manuals/club-car/precedent/2004/2-2004-club-car-precedent-gas-and-electric-owner-s-manual-1/file.html

Motor power rating
3.3 hp

Disputed

“HORSEPOWER 14.0 hp (10.3 kW) rated @ 3,600 rpm 3.3 hp”

Source: web.archive.org/web/20210512082056id_/https://www.clubcar.com/-/media/project/milky-way/clubcar/clubcar-documents/pdf/literature/golf-fleet/golf-cars/glf0027-precedent-brochure---lr.pdf

Other sources state

  • 3.2 hp

    “Drive motor: Direct drive, 48 volts DC, shunt-wound, 3.2 hp”

    Source: tidewatercarts.com/golf-cart-manuals/club-car/precedent/2004/2-2004-club-car-precedent-gas-and-electric-owner-s-manual-1/file.html

Top speed
5–15 mph, in seven settings

“7 speed settings: 5–15 mph (8–24.14 kph)”

Source: web.archive.org/web/20210512082056id_/https://www.clubcar.com/-/media/project/milky-way/clubcar/clubcar-documents/pdf/literature/golf-fleet/golf-cars/glf0027-precedent-brochure---lr.pdf

Battery and charging

Battery fitted
6 x 8V

“Trojan HydroLink Watering Kit for Club Car 48V Systems of 6 x 8V Batteries”

Source: thesolarbiz.com/trojan-8volt-hydrolink-club-car-ds-precedent.html

Pack shipped with
No pack named

Unconfirmed

“Optional single point watering system”

Source: web.archive.org/web/20210512082056id_/https://www.clubcar.com/-/media/project/milky-way/clubcar/clubcar-documents/pdf/literature/golf-fleet/golf-cars/glf0027-precedent-brochure---lr.pdf

Charger fitted
48 V DC, 13.5 A, high-frequency solid-state charger

“48 VDC 13.5 amp DC high frequency”

Source: web.archive.org/web/20210512082056id_/https://www.clubcar.com/-/media/project/milky-way/clubcar/clubcar-documents/pdf/literature/golf-fleet/golf-cars/glf0027-precedent-brochure---lr.pdf

Cart's system voltage
48 V DC

“Electrical system: 48 volts DC, reduced speed reverse”

Source: tidewatercarts.com/golf-cart-manuals/club-car/precedent/2004/2-2004-club-car-precedent-gas-and-electric-owner-s-manual-1/file.html

Charger
Automatic, 48-volt, UL and CSA listed

“Charger: Automatic, 48-volt; UL and CSA listed”

Source: tidewatercarts.com/golf-cart-manuals/club-car/precedent/2004/2-2004-club-car-precedent-gas-and-electric-owner-s-manual-1/file.html

Battery configuration

2004: 12-volt deep-cycle batteries (the manual gives no count)

“Batteries: High capacity, deep cycle, 12 volt”

Source: tidewatercarts.com/golf-cart-manuals/club-car/precedent/2004/2-2004-club-car-precedent-gas-and-electric-owner-s-manual-1/file.html

2005: 12-volt deep-cycle batteries (the manual gives no count)

“Batteries: High capacity, deep cycle, 12 volt”

Source: web.archive.org/web/20121002212858id_/http://xrtdealers.clubcar.com/ownersManuals/102680201 0704B0105A.pdf

2007: 12-volt deep-cycle batteries (the manual gives no count)

“Batteries: High capacity, deep cycle, 12 volt”

Source: web.archive.org/web/20120914010229id_/http://xrtdealers.clubcar.com/ownersManuals/103218308 0706E0607D.pdf

2008: Four 12-volt batteries

“Batteries 12-volt (4) 12-volt”

Source: web.archive.org/web/20120324163345id_/http://www.clubcar.com/documents/downloads/1408_Pi2_Pi2L_SSv2_HR.pdf

2012–2014: Six 8-volt batteries

“Figure 2 Battery Cable Removal – 6x8-Volt Battery”

Source: web.archive.org/web/20140327122539id_/http://www.clubcar.com/content/dam/cc-corp/documents/pdf/pdf/ownersmanuals/Precedent OM-103897201 0511G0613F.pdf

Battery configuration, Champion trim
Four 12-volt GC12 batteries

“Club Car Precedent Champion models also use a 48-volt system but utilize four BCI Group Size GC12, 12-volt batteries.”

Source: usbattery.com/replacement-batteries-for-club-car-golf-carts

Size and fit

Curb weight
903 lb (410 kg)

“CURB WEIGHT 642 lb (291 kg) 903 lb (410 kg)”

Source: web.archive.org/web/20210512082056id_/https://www.clubcar.com/-/media/project/milky-way/clubcar/clubcar-documents/pdf/literature/golf-fleet/golf-cars/glf0027-precedent-brochure---lr.pdf

Overall dimensions
91.5 × 47.25 × 68.5 in (232 × 120 × 174 cm)

“91.5 x 47.25 x 68.5 in (232 x 120 x 174 cm)”

Source: web.archive.org/web/20210512082056id_/https://www.clubcar.com/-/media/project/milky-way/clubcar/clubcar-documents/pdf/literature/golf-fleet/golf-cars/glf0027-precedent-brochure---lr.pdf

Brakes and safety

Brakes
Self-adjusting rear mechanical drum brakes

“Self-adjusting, rear wheel mechanical drum”

Source: web.archive.org/web/20210512082056id_/https://www.clubcar.com/-/media/project/milky-way/clubcar/clubcar-documents/pdf/literature/golf-fleet/golf-cars/glf0027-precedent-brochure---lr.pdf

Where you can drive it

Federal motor vehicle safety standards
Club Car say it meets neither the car standards nor FMVSS 500

“These vehicles are designed and manufactured for off-road use only. They do not conform to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards for automobiles or to FMVSS 500 for low-speed vehicles and are not equipped for operation on public streets, roads or highways.”

Source: web.archive.org/web/20210512082056id_/https://www.clubcar.com/-/media/project/milky-way/clubcar/clubcar-documents/pdf/literature/golf-fleet/golf-cars/glf0027-precedent-brochure---lr.pdf

Recalls and fire safety

Hazard the regulator describes
Sources disagree
  • Club Car Recalls Golf Cars and Utility Vehicles Due to Fuel Leak and Fire Hazard

    “Club Car Recalls Golf Cars and Utility Vehicles Due to Fuel Leak and Fire Hazard”

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2012/club-car-recalls-golf-cars-and-utility-vehicles-due-to-fuel-leak-and-fire-hazard

  • Fuel can leak from an improperly-routed fuel line, posing fire and burn hazards

    “Fuel can leak from an improperly-routed fuel line, posing fire and burn hazards.”

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2019/Club-Car-Recalls-Gas-Golf-and-Transport-Vehicles-Due-to-Fire-and-Burn-Hazards-Recall-Alert

  • An improperly factory-installed hose clamp can rub and wear a hole in the fuel tank, causing a leak and posing a fire hazard

    “An improperly factory-installed hose clamp can rub and wear a hole in the fuel tank, causing a leak and posing a fire hazard.”

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2016/Club-Car-Recalls-Gas-Golf-and-Transport-Vehicles

  • hip restraint on the passenger side can fracture, posing a fall hazard

    “The hip restraint on the passenger side can fracture, posing a fall hazard.”

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2014/Club-Car-Recalls-Golf-and-Transport-Vehicles1

  • The fuel tank seam can separate and allow fuel to leak, posing a fire hazard

    “The fuel tank seam can separate and allow fuel to leak, posing a fire hazard.”

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2012/Club-Car-Recalls-Golf-Cars-Due-to-Fuel-Leak-and-Fire-Hazard

Remedy the regulator gives
Sources disagree
  • Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled vehicles and contact Club Car to schedule a free repair

    “Consumers should immediately stop using the recalled vehicles and contact Club Car to schedule a free repair.”

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2019/Club-Car-Recalls-Gas-Golf-and-Transport-Vehicles-Due-to-Fire-and-Burn-Hazards-Recall-Alert

  • Consumers should immediately stop using the vehicles and contact Club Car to schedule a free repair

    “Consumers should immediately stop using the vehicles and contact Club Car to schedule a free repair.”

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2016/Club-Car-Recalls-Gas-Golf-and-Transport-Vehicles

  • stop using the transport vehicles and contact Club Car for a free replacement of the passenger side hip restraint

    “Consumers should immediately stop using the transport vehicles and contact Club Car for a free replacement of the passenger side hip restraint.”

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2014/Club-Car-Recalls-Golf-and-Transport-Vehicles1

Units the recall covers
Sources disagree
  • This recall involves the following 2012 Club Car gasoline and diesel golf cars and utility vehicles

    “This recall involves the following 2012 Club Car gasoline and diesel golf cars and utility vehicles.”

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2012/club-car-recalls-golf-cars-and-utility-vehicles-due-to-fuel-leak-and-fire-hazard

  • model year 2019 gas-powered Precedent, Tempo, Onward and Villager golf and transport vehicles

    “This recall involves model year 2019 gas-powered Precedent, Tempo, Onward and Villager golf and transport vehicles, which are used for short-distance transportation.”

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2019/Club-Car-Recalls-Gas-Golf-and-Transport-Vehicles-Due-to-Fire-and-Burn-Hazards-Recall-Alert

  • The 2014-2016 Precedent gas golf and transport vehicles

    “The 2014-2016 Precedent gas golf and transport vehicles, which vary in size, models and colors, are used for short-distance transportation.”

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2016/Club-Car-Recalls-Gas-Golf-and-Transport-Vehicles

  • various sizes, models and colors of model year 2012 Precedent I2 golf and transport vehicles

    “The recalled vehicles are various sizes, models and colors of model year 2012 Precedent I2 golf and transport vehicles used for short-distance transportation.”

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2014/Club-Car-Recalls-Golf-and-Transport-Vehicles1

Certifications

  • ANSI/OPEI Z130.1Stated in manufacturer documentIssuer: Club Car (self-declared)2007 Precedent Golf Car Owner's Manual (Club Car 103218308) — web.archive.org/web/20120914010229id_/http://xrtdealers.clubcar.com/ownersManuals/103218308 0706E0607D.pdf2005 Precedent Golf Car Owner's Manual (Club Car 102680201) — web.archive.org/web/20121002212858id_/http://xrtdealers.clubcar.com/ownersManuals/102680201 0704B0105A.pdf2012 through 2014 Precedent Golf Car Owner's Manual (Club Car 103897201) — web.archive.org/web/20140327122539id_/http://www.clubcar.com/content/dam/cc-corp/documents/pdf/pdf/ownersmanuals/Precedent OM-103897201 0511G0613F.pdfView standard: ANSI/OPEI Z130.1 →

    Applies in: United States

    2007 manual, front matter: "This vehicle conforms to the current American National Standards Institute’s Z130 Safety and Performance Requirements for Golf Cars." The manual says 'conforms to'. This is the maker's own statement, not a certificate; no certifying body or test report is named.

Each standard listed is an independent claim about this specific product — one standard does not imply compliance with another.

Recalls (12)

Most recalls cover only certain model years, serials or build dates — view each notice to check it against your own unit.

Battery specs & replacement options

Identified controller

  • Navitas Vehicle Systems states: “Club Car Carryall, iQ, Precedent, Onward, DS, Tempo”

    Source: navitasvs.com/Club-Car/Carryall

  • Navitas Vehicle Systems states: “Club Car Carryall, iQ, Precedent, Onward, DS, Tempo”

    Source: navitasvs.com/Club-Car/Carryall

  • Alltrax states: “2001- Present DS, Precedent, Excel, IQ” Scope: Row headed 2001- Present DS, Precedent, Excel, IQ: Stock, Mild and Wild/Extreme controller columns of the row. Alltrax's footnote defines the columns: Stock is no upgrades, Mild is big tires or motor but not both, Wild is big tires and motor or NEVs, Extreme is hunting buggy, EVs and other high performance applications. The row's years read 2001 to present; the guide is dated 4/7/2016.

    Source: web.archive.org/web/20240620172149id_/https://alltraxinc.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/DOC116-006-D_APP-XCT-SR-CLUB-CAR-APPLICATION-GUIDE.pdf

  • Alltrax states: “2001- Present DS, Precedent, Excel, IQ” Scope: Row headed 2001- Present DS, Precedent, Excel, IQ: Stock, Mild and Wild/Extreme controller columns of the row. Alltrax's footnote defines the columns: Stock is no upgrades, Mild is big tires or motor but not both, Wild is big tires and motor or NEVs, Extreme is hunting buggy, EVs and other high performance applications. The row's years read 2001 to present; the guide is dated 4/7/2016.

    Source: web.archive.org/web/20240620172149id_/https://alltraxinc.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/DOC116-006-D_APP-XCT-SR-CLUB-CAR-APPLICATION-GUIDE.pdf

  • Alltrax states: “AC1 Controller DC Conversion 2008.5+ Club Car Precedent” Scope: Cover title of the manual for the DC-to-AC conversion of Club Car Precedent carts from 2008.5; the manual's specification table lists the AC1-72650.

    Source: web.archive.org/web/20260411114535id_/https://alltraxinc.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/DOC113-041-G_CCP-OP-MANUAL-AC1.pdf

  • MadJax states: “Club Car® Precedent® & DS® with Curtis 1510/1515 Controller” Scope: Installation instructions are given for the Precedent and DS fitted with the Curtis 1510/1515 controller.

    Source: madjax.com/support/manuals/25-001-07_Torque-600-Amp-Controller_Manual.pdf

  • Alltrax states: “2001- Present DS, Precedent, Excel, IQ” Scope: Row headed 2001- Present DS, Precedent, Excel, IQ: Stock, Mild and Wild/Extreme controller columns of the row. Alltrax's footnote defines the columns: Stock is no upgrades, Mild is big tires or motor but not both, Wild is big tires and motor or NEVs, Extreme is hunting buggy, EVs and other high performance applications. The row's years read 2001 to present; the guide is dated 4/7/2016.

    Source: web.archive.org/web/20240620172149id_/https://alltraxinc.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/DOC116-006-D_APP-XCT-SR-CLUB-CAR-APPLICATION-GUIDE.pdf

  • Recorded from the maker's published statement on our archived copy; machine and pack both in the quote Source section: DC to AC Conversion Kits. The quote carries a condition (serial range, kit, adapter, upgrade, version, a year not stated as a range...) that fitmentScope cannot hold verbatim, so this row waits for review; its scope and any change it needs are entered by a person. The maker's own words for the condition (copied from the quote, for the reviewer): "TAC2 Kit 440A Club Car IQ/APPS 4kW CAN" / "4kW Nivel 25-074 Red Hawk CON-NV44-CC01 FSIP 222-48VCANCCTAC2-4 Fits Club Car iQ, Precedent, Onward, DS, Tempo Kit Contents 10-000686 OTF Programmer 1.0 10-000815 Navitas 4kW" / "AC Motor 10-000845 Hardware Mounting Kit 10-000888-02 TAC2 Controller - 440A". The source's words, verbatim: "TAC2 Kit 440A Club Car IQ/APPS 4kW CAN (10-000889-26) Amperage: 440A Motor kW: 4kW Nivel 25-074 Red Hawk CON-NV44-CC01 FSIP 222-48VCANCCTAC2-4 Fits Club Car iQ, Precedent, Onward, DS, Tempo Kit Contents 10-000686 OTF Programmer 1.0 10-000815 Navitas 4kW (10T) AC Motor 10-000845 Hardware Mounting Kit 10-000888-02 TAC2 Controller - 440A"

    Source: navitasvs.com/Club-Car/Precedent

  • Recorded from the maker's published statement on our archived copy; machine and pack both in the quote Source section: DC to AC Conversion Kits. The quote carries a condition (serial range, kit, adapter, upgrade, version, a year not stated as a range...) that fitmentScope cannot hold verbatim, so this row waits for review; its scope and any change it needs are entered by a person. The maker's own words for the condition (copied from the quote, for the reviewer): "TAC2 Kit 600A Club Car IQ/APPS 4kW CAN" / "4kW Nivel 25-092 Red Hawk CON-NV64-CC01 FSIP 222-48VCANCC600TAC2-4 Fits Club Car iQ, Precedent, Onward, DS, Tempo Kit Contents 10-000686 OTF Programmer 1.0 10-000815 Navitas 4kW" / "AC Motor 10-000834 Hardware Mounting Kit 10-000890-12 TAC2 Controller - 600A". The source's words, verbatim: "TAC2 Kit 600A Club Car IQ/APPS 4kW CAN (10-000891-32) Amperage: 600A Motor kW: 4kW Nivel 25-092 Red Hawk CON-NV64-CC01 FSIP 222-48VCANCC600TAC2-4 Fits Club Car iQ, Precedent, Onward, DS, Tempo Kit Contents 10-000686 OTF Programmer 1.0 10-000815 Navitas 4kW (10T) AC Motor 10-000834 Hardware Mounting Kit 10-000890-12 TAC2 Controller - 600A"

    Source: navitasvs.com/Club-Car/Precedent

Identified power-system parts

Sources

  • 2005 Precedent Golf Car Owner's Manual (Club Car 102680201, edition 0704B0105A)Archived document

    Source: web.archive.org/web/20121002212858id_/http://xrtdealers.clubcar.com/ownersManuals/102680201 0704B0105A.pdf

    Retrieved September 30, 2026

  • 2007 Precedent Golf Car Owner's Manual, electric and gasoline (Club Car 103218308, edition 0706E0607D)Archived document

    Source: web.archive.org/web/20120914010229id_/http://xrtdealers.clubcar.com/ownersManuals/103218308 0706E0607D.pdf

    Retrieved September 30, 2026

  • 2008 Precedent i2 brochure with specification table (Club Car CCN 18033753 01/08)Archived document

    Source: web.archive.org/web/20120324163345id_/http://www.clubcar.com/documents/downloads/1408_Pi2_Pi2L_SSv2_HR.pdf

    Retrieved September 30, 2026

  • 2012 through 2014 Precedent Golf Car Owner's Manual (Club Car 103897201, edition 0511G0613F)Archived document

    Source: web.archive.org/web/20140327122539id_/http://www.clubcar.com/content/dam/cc-corp/documents/pdf/pdf/ownersmanuals/Precedent OM-103897201 0511G0613F.pdf

    Retrieved September 30, 2026

  • Archived document

    Source: tidewatercarts.com/golf-cart-manuals/club-car/precedent/2004/2-2004-club-car-precedent-gas-and-electric-owner-s-manual-1/file.html

    Retrieved October 1, 2026

  • Club Car Replacement Batteries | U.S. Battery Mfg. Co.Archived document

    Source: usbattery.com/replacement-batteries-for-club-car-golf-carts

    Retrieved September 24, 2026

  • Archived document

    Source: web.archive.org/web/20210512082056id_/https://www.clubcar.com/-/media/project/milky-way/clubcar/clubcar-documents/pdf/literature/golf-fleet/golf-cars/glf0027-precedent-brochure---lr.pdf

    Retrieved September 19, 2026

  • Trojan 8Volt Hydrolink Club Car DS, PrecedentArchived document

    Source: thesolarbiz.com/trojan-8volt-hydrolink-club-car-ds-precedent.html

    Retrieved October 8, 2026

  • Archived document

    Source: manuals.clubcar.com/api/preview/get/102501601

    Retrieved September 14, 2026

  • Club Car Recalls Golf Cars and Utility Vehicles Due to Fuel Leak and Fire Hazard | CPSC.govArchived document

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2012/club-car-recalls-golf-cars-and-utility-vehicles-due-to-fuel-leak-and-fire-hazard

    Retrieved October 10, 2026

  • Club Car Recalls Gas Golf and Transport Vehicles Due to Fire and Burn Hazards (Recall Alert) | CPSC.govArchived document

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2019/Club-Car-Recalls-Gas-Golf-and-Transport-Vehicles-Due-to-Fire-and-Burn-Hazards-Recall-Alert

    Retrieved October 11, 2026

  • Club Car Recalls Gas Golf and Transport Vehicles | CPSC.govArchived document

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2016/Club-Car-Recalls-Gas-Golf-and-Transport-Vehicles

    Retrieved October 11, 2026

  • Club Car Recalls Golf and Transport Vehicles | CPSC.govArchived document

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2014/Club-Car-Recalls-Golf-and-Transport-Vehicles1

    Retrieved October 11, 2026

  • Club Car Recalls Golf Cars Due to Fuel Leak and Fire Hazard | CPSC.govArchived document

    Source: cpsc.gov/Recalls/2012/Club-Car-Recalls-Golf-Cars-Due-to-Fuel-Leak-and-Fire-Hazard

    Retrieved October 11, 2026

  • Archived document

    Source: web.archive.org/web/20101228101701id_/http://www.clubcar.com/documents/downloads/FleetGolfBrochure.pdf

    Retrieved September 19, 2026